Home > Exchange, Microsoft Outlook > Creating an Outlook Rule for an Alternate Email Address for your Exchange Account

Creating an Outlook Rule for an Alternate Email Address for your Exchange Account

In Microsoft Exchange, you can have several e-mail addresses (even different domains) tied to the same account. This is great because you can set up all the email addresses and domains you manage from that site to go to the same mailbox. However, there comes a time where you may want to “break out” of the box those rules hold you in. Consider one of my Exchange mailboxes, that has several email addresses tied to it:

As you can see, I can get email at a variety of addresses. Some of them at arelconet.com, others at other domains. One of these that I use in particular is chetsjunk1 (at) arelconet.com. I give that one out to people who need my address for some reason, but I really don’t want to hear from them again. J You have one of those, don’t you?

The problem is, of course, that email address is now tied to the same account. If I go and try and create a rule to capture just emails for this address, look what happens:

Automatically gets changed to:

It “senses” that the address is part of my account, and does the not so nice work of saying “you mean this, right?” when I really didn’t mean that at all. I don’t want to create a rule for all incoming email to my account; just that one email address.

Today I discovered how to make this work. I was thinking, “I know that info’s in the message header, but I can’t search that.” Oh Yes I Can! All I had to do was look around (yeah, it’s right there in my screen shot), and I see that I can create a rule for “specific words in the message header.” I select that rule, put in my “chetsjunk1” (and any number of other header words I want to look for) and there we go!

As a side note, I did read somewhere that this may be case sensitive, which could become a problem. But if you’re the one giving out this email address to automated function on websites, you can control that. You can also control that if it’s a link to your email address on your company website. Just keep it in mind.

I found that this works great in both Outlook 2007 and 2010, both of which I use extensively.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

